Ray’s Cataracts Diagnosis

At 22 years old, I had just graduated from university. Then, one day during the summer, I started to notice that my sight was becoming blurry, as if someone had placed tracing paper over my eyes. I didn’t think much of it at first because I thought my eyes were ‘playing up’. I tried using eye drops to see if the blurriness would disappear, but this didn’t seem to improve my sight at all. I began to find it difficult to read books and see bus numbers from a far.

After getting very frustrated that my sight wasn’t returning to normal, I decided to go to my local opticians in Shadwell. I’ve known my opticians, Mr Patel, ever since I was a young boy. I trusted him to tell me if there was anything wrong with my eyes. He was concerned to hear the ongoing issues that I was experiencing with my sight, and reassured me that he would fully investigate.

When Mr Patel took a look at my eyes he immediately noticed there was something different with them. I remember him saying to me “Raymond you have cataracts”. I had mixed emotions running through my head, mostly shock and surprise. I thought cataracts could only affect the elderly. I asked Mr Patel if I was going to lose my sight. He told me that I shouldn’t worry as my cataracts were at an early stage, and all I needed was an operation on both eyes to remove the cataracts.

As my mum was also present during the appointment, Mr Patel spoke to us both about what must be done next to treat my cataracts. He advised me to go to my GP so they can make a referral for me to see the Ophthalmologist at my local eye hospital.

Over the upcoming months, my cataracts rapidly progressed and I could no longer see out of both eyes. I had to rely heavily on my family and friends for mobility. In 2013, I had cataracts surgery on my right eye.

Cataracts is an eye condition related to aging, and is the clouding of the lense. The World Health Organisation says that 51% of worldwide blindness is caused by cataracts – a figure that equates to around 20 million people. Although, cataracts is related to aging having diabetes can also increase the likelihood of developing cataracts at a younger age.

For more information about cataracts visit: https://www.edinburghclinic.com/blog/cataract-facts/

Lastly, I hope that my blog article has helped to emphasize the importance of having an eye health check-up, at least once every two years, regardless of your age.

14344683_617553258425151_4500023625077427908_n
National Eye Health Week poster which says, “13.8 Million UK Adults are at risk of avoidable sight loss because they fail to have regular sight tests”

Written Ray Calamaan

Published by

eastlondonvision

East London Vision (ELVis) is the subgroup for the 7 geographical areas that naturally cover all of east London north of the Thames: • Barking and Dagenham • City and Hackney • Havering • Newham • Redbridge • Tower Hamlets • Waltham Forest. ELVis is designed to provide an effective and efficient way of ensuring that vision impaired people living in East London get the support and services they need. It is an umbrella organisation with voluntary sector, user led representation in each of the east London boroughs. Our vision is that everyone living in East London experiencing, or at risk of, any form of sight loss, receives a high quality service relevant to their need and at a time appropriate for themselves. Our aim is to enhance & link vision impaired services and organisations throughout East London, improving the quality of life for blind and partially sighted people and increasing individual independence.

Leave a Reply

